top of page

My days on average

As I've been going throughout my days here on the farm I've been sorted into a group that performs specific duties each day. The groups rotate between three sets of duties: feeding, meat room, and house chores. The feeding is probably the most interactive with the animals. This group prepares the food for each of the animals and delivers it to them. I had one of my group members take pictures of me doing this. Then the meat room group delivers water to each of the animals and collects/cleans the food bowls that got used the previous day. The house chore group is pretty self-explanitory. Then there's the unique days where the big pride of lions and the smaller pride get fed, this is only on Wednesdays and Saturday mornings. We take baby cow fetuses that were stillborn or otherwise died during birth, and thrown them into the enclosures and watch the ensuing feast. We also complete bigger projects on occasions. For example, recently there has been a female jackal in the area that has been tempting our own male to turn into an escape artist. So to prevent further escape attempts, we've been digging up his perimeter and filling it in with cement that we mix. This has been my life for the last week or so.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page